Water based Cuprinol

Mike Hughes

I have a large deck to bid on that is stained with a Cuprinol water based product........Redwood color.

I am considering applying the same thing, since that seems to be what the customer wants. Do I need to strip the old sealer off first? I have never worked with water based before.......anything I should know?

Also, they have some sections of deck that were just recently added.........a cedar shake roof...........they want that sealed to match. Can I use the same product on the new cedar?

rvagnoni

MIKE,

Sherwin Williams sells that sealer. You might try stopping by one of their nearby stores and talk to one of thier reps. I also know of another contractor who has used that particular sealer for years and may be of some help. Give me a call and I will tell you more about it.

Aplus

Mike,
You didn't mention whether it was semi-transparent or solid color. My experience is that latex (water) based semi's look over-all best when stripped first. If it's a solid, then a good washing is all that's needed. If it's a semi, and you are trying to match the roof, then stripping and brightening would be appropriate. I've used Cuprinol several times, and it's fairly decent. It should strip well with Stripex-L.

Hope this helps,
Tony

Mike Hughes

Tony,

Thanks for your reply.

It is a semi.......not solid.

I'm not a huge fan of using the Stripex........have you ever tried Sodium Hydroxide on it??

Mike

Jon Fife

hi Mike,

why not bust out the hd-80??? i love that stuff, darn near gone through a bucket in a week and a half.

Jon Fife
Nashville,TN

Aplus

Mike,