Polyurethane Foam Roof Cleaning

reddogz12

Hello all ! My Name is Clint and I am new to the powerwashing industry down here in Florida and I am in need of a little advice.

I recently bid on and won a job for the cleaning and repainting/sealing of a polyurethane foam roof on a house that was built in the 20's.From what I understand this is the same type of covering thats on mobile homes.The roof is pretty much flat other then it is graded towards the drains holes on the sides of the house.There are no down spouts or gutters so the cleaning solution and debri is going to run down the side of the freshly painted home.On the roof itself there is of course algea thanks to our lovely climate here in FL.So my question is what would be the best type of cleaner to use? I want to avoid alot of pressure in fear of blowing a hole in the foam,but I dont want to use chemicals that are going to affect the foam or streak or affect the paint while running down the side of the home.
In addition there are overhangs with clay tile that I wouldnt dream of walking on but they are easily accesible from the roof that would also need to be cleaned via chemical and rinse.

Any suggestions for a newb in FL would be greaty appreciated
Thanks Clint

Dan S

wow this may be the job that puts you in search of working for somebody else.

How can you bid on something that intence with so many variables. and being new to this industry?

Im not trying to bust your bubble..........but e-gads you are in for a picnic.

since you are new and have no-clue how to go about it I would suggest you put plastic on the whole house.- block the drains and use a sump pump to put your h20 in.

You do know that if you cannot do this job you need to tell them.

I would sub it out to a pro. and ask to work with them to get some experience........that way you learn and the job will ( should) be done right.

Next question>> what did you bid? I wonder why you won the bid and the other fellows did not????